License choice for design and use cases

This is a short one.

@Marc.2377 outlined in a previous issue some ideal candidates for licenses.

I went ahead and chose CC-BY-ND for our feature-development repo because it seemed ‘right’ as our design and use case/feature development is what is going to make our software shine and we want to protect that whilst still remaining true to our OSS nature.

You can see the WIP PR here

In essence we want to protect our community and all the work everyone is putting in.

With that in mind, could people who know far more about this than myself weigh in on this please

@manassehkatz @ArtOfCode @Marc.2377 @cellio

5 Likes

Looks OK to me, though I don’t consider myself anything close to a License Expert.

“No derivatives” doesn’t sound to me compatible with “open source” though I’m no expert.

https://opensource.stackexchange.com/q/357/8652

I’m not sure what you think it means to have open-source software based on a no-derivatives functional spec.

2 Likes

@mattjbrent can confirm/deny and/or explain more. But I think the license here is for stuff related to planning/designing the software and not the actual software code.

2 Likes

Yeah. Thanks @cwellsx and @manassehkatz. I think if reading those posts at face value are correct, then it might not be the best license. Id like to reiterate I’m a complete noob when it comes to licensing legality.

My general feeling or thoughts on my choice was. This is open source software created by a community of people for communities and we want to protect this body of work so that a for profit company or another Ill meaning organisation can’t take core aspects of the product and essentially rip it off.