MVP: Account database scheme suggestion

Here’s a suggestion how our accounts database might look like. Note that I’m not a database expert, so feel free to take it apart without mercy.

Note that this does not contain profile data (other than the nickname); I think the profile data (including an optional publicly shown email, that may be different from the account recovery email) is better stored together with the site contents.

I separated account and identity so that we have the option to later implement several identities per account if we decide so (which I personally hope). In MVP, there would be one identity entry per account entry.

Note that the only time the account table would be accessed is at login, password recovery, or when sending account-related mails. Everything else could be done purely on the identity table. Therefore I don’t think the separate tables are a performance disadvantage even if we don’t end up supporting multiple identities.

One thing that might be a bad choice is that I made separate tables for each login method. My idea being that I suspect it’s more easy to add a table than to add fields to the accounts table. The disadvantage is that the link between authentication type and authentication data table is not in the database, but only in the software. Maybe a database expert can tell me whether this is a good or bad idea.

A note on the “private” vs. ”public” label in the comments:

Any table labelled ”private” contains information that is only ever given to the account owner and, where required, site operators/moderators. Any table labelled “public” contains information publicly displayed on the site (like the nickname). I tried to avoid mixing public and private data in the same table; however the account field in the identity table is actually private data. But making a separate table for account/identity seemed to be overkill to me; maybe my judgement here was wrong.

Anyway, here is my suggestion: